Showing posts with label Before and After. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Before and After. Show all posts

Thursday, August 2, 2012

The Curse of the Third Haircut.

Yay! Finally a hair post and it's like a Nancy Drew / Hardy Boys caper! (except I am unable to come up with a solution... Can you help me?)

I rarely get my hairs cut. I generally like my hair to be long so it gets cut about 3 times a year. and then it's just a trim..

My mom has had relatively short hair her entire adult life. This means she gets her hair cut about every four to six weeks, and she consistently experiences the phenomenon that we refer to as 'The Curse of the Third Haircut'..

My mom will go to a new stylist, get a good haircut from them, then six weeks later she will get another good haircut from them, then like clockwork,  the third haircut from this person who has previously given two great cuts is absolutely dreadful.
At which point she is forced to find a new stylist..

One of my theories is that the stylist starts to get comfortable and cocky once you've come back the third time so they feel like you're so familiar with each other it's a good idea to try different or new techniques.
Or maybe they get lazy and slack off?

I honestly don't know what happens between the second and third haircut, but whatever it is it's bad.

my mom has been growing out her layers for over a year from a 3rd haircut that caused her to have a super short layer in what should have been a pretty simple long bob style.. she somehow constantly kept having one side of her hair with one chunk of a super short 2 inch long layer.. .
Anyway, she grew that out pretty well, and had a very nice A-Line bob like mine by from the same lady that did mine two years ago (Kim), but Kim moved across the country after my mom got two good cuts, and then my mom got two good cuts from Kim's coworker and then that lady dropped off the face of the earth or something..
My mom had to find a new stylist again..
 One of her acquaintances does hair in a nice little salon near her work so she was a convenient choice with a good reputation. As usual the first two cuts were good, but during the third one, as I sat behind my mom, and watched this lady cut a random chunk from the bottom of the back of her hair (think of  a Tom and Jerry cartoon mouse hole in the baseboard but instead of a house it's the baseboards of her HAIR) while she was talking to my mom. then she flat ironed it out so it looked more acceptable, but my mom and I both noticed it.. Since it wasn't too bad, my mom sort of brushed it off and went  back to her last week... for a fourth cut..

BIG MISTAKE..



WHAT.


Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Eyes make the face.

I've never been one to wear a ton of makeup. If my skin was clear enough consistently, I wouldn't wear any foundation or powder. I used to be able to do this in high school.
I really wish my skin was clear now tho because I am lazy.

My routine currently looks like this:


I wash my face in the shower
MAC Skin Brightening Serum
MAC Primer
Foundation of some kind.
Concealer on the uneven spots
MAC Powder all over
Little bit of blush
MAC Skin finish on my cheek bones.
then I curl my eyelashes. ( I know this is part of the eyes, but my curler stays home nowadays)
 then MAC fix + spray.


OK so that definitely seems like a lot but I hate that I  have to wear all this crap. so maybe my previous statement is incorrect.  It's more accurate to say, "I've never been one to WANT to wear a ton of makeup." I cannot stand the caked on feeling. It's just that age and mistreatment have taken natural beauty from me. HA HA I know I'm not exactly old and ugly now, but my skin has acquired blotchy, uneven parts over time that I have to cover up.

In high school and even a couple years after it.. I would have skipped all that and gone straight for the eyes.

The EYES make the face and always will.. I usually do my face routine at home, and then do my eyes at work to save time...I guess?

The eye routine honestly takes less than 5 minutes, probably about 90 seconds. So I'm not sure who I am kidding with that time saving crap.  *LAZY*

On days when I do NOT do my eyes at all, due to lack of time or forgetting or LAZINESS..whatever, I get comments like "WOW, you look really tired." or "Are you feeling okay?"

HA HA.

Eyes are really easy. So there is no excuse for me not doing it. Other than, I don't really care whether people find me attractive at work. in fact I would prefer if they thought I was plain Jane.
White eyeliner in the waterline. (MAC)
Black eyeliner on the lower lash line.. Or not (MAC)
Black mascara. (Benefit)